Search About Subscribe Donate
News and Awards

The Marshall Project Wins Polk Award for “An Unbelievable Story of Rape”

“An Unbelievable Story of Rape” honored in justice reporting category.

The Marshall Project and ProPublica have been awarded a prestigious George Polk Award for their joint project, An Unbelievable Story of Rape.

It was August when Ken Armstrong of The Marshall Project and T. Christian Miller of ProPublica discovered they were working on different ends of the same story: an 18-year-old Washington state woman who had reported being raped at knifepoint only to be disbelieved by police and later prosecuted for lying to them. Years later, two relentless Colorado detectives, both women, arrested a serial rapist and were able to connect the case back to the original victim, who was finally believed.

An 18 year old girl reported a brutal assault. The police called her a liar. Then there was an investigation.
An Unbelievable Story of Rape
Read the Full Story

Rather than trying to scoop each other, the two news organizations teamed up to write a braided narrative that is both a police procedural and a heartbreaking human story. Several law enforcement agencies requested permission to use “An Unbelievable Story of Rape” as part of training programs. The Washington police department that mishandled the initial investigation commended the authors’ even-handed approach.

This marks the first George Polk Award for The Marshall Project. “An Unbelievable Story of Rape” was also a National Magazine Award finalist.

Run by Long Island University, the Polk Awards honor the legacy of CBS correspondent George Polk, who was killed in 1948 while covering the civil war in Greece. The prizes emphasize the bold and influential work of reporters, placing a premium on investigative work that is “original, resourceful and thought-provoking.” A full list of this year’s winners can be seen here.

Before you go...

Can you help us make a difference?

The Marshall Project produces journalism that makes an impact. Our investigation into violence using police dogs prompted departments from Indiana to Louisiana to change their policies. Thousands of cameras were installed in the infamous Attica prison after we revealed the extent of violent abuse by guards. Municipalities stopped charging parents for their kids’ incarceration because of our reporting. Supreme Court justices have cited us, along with incarcerated people acting as their own lawyers.

The type of reporting we practice takes persistence, skill and, above all, time, which is why we need your support. Donations from readers like you allow us to commit the time and attention needed to tell stories that are driving real change. We could not do it without you.

Please donate to The Marshall Project today. We’re extremely grateful to each and every donor who helps power our journalism. Your support goes a long way toward sustaining this important work.