Search About Donate
The Marshall Project is a nonprofit news organization covering the U.S. criminal justice system. Our team draws together seasoned investigative journalists, veteran crime reporters, innovative digital producers, and experienced news editors.
Neil Barsky Founder & Chairman
Susan Chira Editor-in-Chief
Carroll Bogert President


Geraldine Sealey Managing Editor
Andrew Cohen Senior Editor
David Eads Data Editor
Leslie Eaton Senior Editor
Ghazala Irshad Copy Chief
Gabe Isman Director of Technology
Elan Kiderman Director of Product
Tom Meagher Senior Editor
Akiba Solomon Senior Editor
Manuel Torres Regional Editor
Cary Aspinwall Staff Writer
Keri Blakinger Staff Writer
Andrew R. Calderón Data Reporter
Maurice Chammah Staff Writer
Wilbert L. Cooper Staff Writer
Celina Fang Senior Multimedia Editor
Anna Flagg Senior Data Reporter
Ariel Goodman Tow Fellow
Eli Hager Staff Writer
Bo-Won Keum Designer
Jamiles Lartey Staff Writer
Nicole Lewis Staff Writer
Weihua Li Data Reporting Fellow
Joseph Neff Staff Writer
Katie Park Developer
Alysia Santo Staff Writer
Beth Schwartzapfel Staff Writer
Christie Thompson Staff Writer
Abbie VanSickle Staff Writer
Simone Weichselbaum Staff Writer


Ruth Baldwin Director of Communications & Strategy
Lawrence Bartley Director, News Inside
Crystal Hayes Chief Administrative Officer/ Director of Human Resources
Eli Stern Chief Financial Officer
Amanda Wilson Director of Development
Setareh Baig Audience Engagement Editor
Trip Eggert Communications and Impact Manager
Jennifer Montalbano Development Manager for Institutional Giving
AJ Pflanzer Membership Manager
Zahra Sethna Director for Development Communications
Terri Troncale Partnership Manager
Robin Walker Office Manager
Donald Washington, Jr Executive Assistant
Chris Wilson Development Advisor

Contributing Editor

Contributing Writers

Demetrius Buckley Baraga Correctional Facility, Baraga Mich.
John J. Lennon Sing Sing Correctional Facility, Ossining, N.Y.
Arthur Longworth Monroe Correctional Complex, Monroe, Wash.
Jerry Metcalf Thumb Correctional Facility, Lapeer, Mich.
Rahsaan Thomas San Quentin State Prison, San Quentin, Calif.
George T. Wilkerson Central Prison, Raleigh, N.C.

Board of Directors

Neil Barsky Chairman
Fred Cummings President, Elizabeth Park Capital Management
Nicholas Goldberg Columnist, Los Angeles Times
Brittany Gore Communications, Georgetown University's Red House & Baker Trust for Transformational Learning.
C. C. Melvin Ike Principal, The Blackstone Group
Bill Keller Founding Editor-in-Chief, The Marshall Project
James Leitner President of Falcon Management
William L. McComb Former CEO, Fifth & Pacific Companies, Inc.
Jonathan Moses Partner, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Abby Pucker Head of Business Development, Madison Wells Media
Ben Reiter Journalist, author and podcaster
Topeka K. Sam Founder & Executive Director of The Ladies of Hope Ministries
Liz Simons Board Chair, Heising-Simons Foundation
William J. Snipes Partner, Sullivan & Cromwell
Anil Soni CEO, World Health Organization Foundation

Advisory Board

Soffiyah Elijah Executive Director, Alliance of Families for Justice
Nicole Gordon Faculty Director of the CUNY/Baruch Executive MPA Program & Adjunct Professor of Public Affairs
Andrew Jarecki Filmmaker
Marc Levin Director, Center for Effective Justice, Texas Public Policy Foundation
David Simon Writer & Television Producer
Carter Stewart Managing Director, Draper Richards Kaplan Foundation