Search About Support Us
Neil Barsky Founder & Chairman
Bill Keller Editor-in-Chief
Carroll Bogert President


Kirsten Danis Managing Editor
Andrew Cohen Senior Editor
Tom Meagher Deputy Managing Editor
Geraldine Sealey Features Editor
Maurice Chammah Staff Writer
Tatiana Craine Social Media Editor
Taylor Eldridge Investigative Fellow
Celina Fang Multimedia Editor
Anna Flagg Interactive Reporter
John Carlos Frey Special Correspondent
Justin George Washington, D.C., correspondent
Eli Hager Staff Writer
Gabe Isman Director of Technology
Nicole Lewis Tow Reporting Fellow
Yolanda Martinez Web Producer
Joseph Neff Staff Writer
Alysia Santo Staff Writer
Beth Schwartzapfel Staff Writer
Alex Tatusian Editorial Designer
Christie Thompson Staff Writer
Abbie VanSickle Staff Writer
Simone Weichselbaum Staff Writer


Donovan X. Ramsey Commentary Editor


Ruth Baldwin Director of Communications & Strategy
Crystal Hayes Chief Administrative Officer
Eli Stern Chief Financial Officer
Amanda Wilson Director of Development
Andrew Epstein Communications & Development Associate
Mikaila Read Membership Manager

Contributing Writers

John J. Lennon Sing Sing Correctional Facility, Ossining, N.Y.
Arthur Longworth Monroe Correctional Complex, Monroe, Wash.
Jerry Metcalf Thumb Correctional Facility, Lapeer, Mich.
Rahsaan Thomas San Quentin State Prison, San Quentin, Calif.
George T. Wilkerson Central Prison, Raleigh, N.C.

Board of Directors

Neil Barsky Chairman
Fred Cummings President, Elizabeth Park Capital Management
Nicholas Goldberg Editor of the Editorial Pages, Los Angeles Times
Nicole Gordon Faculty Director of the CUNY/Baruch Executive MPA Program & Adjunct Professor of Public Affairs
Jeffrey Halis President, Tyndall Management
Laurie Hays Executive Vice President, Edelman
James Leitner President of Falcon Management
William L. McComb Former CEO, Fifth & Pacific Companies, Inc.
Jonathan Moses Partner, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Ben Reiter Senior Writer, Sports Illustrated
Liz Simons Board Chair, Heising-Simons Foundation
William J. Snipes Partner, Sullivan & Cromwell
Anil Soni Vice President, Mylan

Advisory Board

Soffiyah Elijah Executive Director, Alliance of Families for Justice
Andrew Jarecki Filmmaker
Marc Levin Director, Center for Effective Justice, Texas Public Policy Foundation
Joan Petersilia Adelbert H. Sweet Professor of Law, Stanford Law School
David Simon Writer & Television Producer
Bryan Stevenson Director, Equal Justice Initiative